Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact (eNLC): 2023 Updates

The new year means that it’s time to update the states that are a part of the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact. If you’re not sure exactly what that means, here’s a quick refresher (and for more in depth info, check out last year’s blog post on the Enhanced Nurse Licensure Compact.

The eNLC means that nurses who hold a license in one of these states also have a valid, immediate license in any other state that recognizes the eNLC. No temporary licenses, no new paperwork, just immediate access to jobs in any of these states.

Nurses will be thrilled to hear that the new year means another state has joined the eNLC. As of January 1, 2023, Ohio is now a full member of the compact. Last February, Vermont also joined the eNLC, which brings the number of states that participate in the eNLC to 37. Pennsylvania passed legislation back in 2021, but an implementation date has not been set so stay tuned for more info about that whenever the Pennsylvania Board of Nursing releases it.

Current eNLC members as of January 1, 2023

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

States With Pending Legislation to Join the eNLC

  • Alaska
  • Illinois
  • Massachusetts
  • Michigan
  • Minnesota
  • New York
  • Rhode Island
  • Washington

These states have introduced legislation to add to themselves to the eNLC, but it has not been passed or approved. If your main nursing license is from one of these states, consider contacting your state’s Board of Nursing to ask about advocacy groups to help increase the visibility of the eNLC.

States With No Pending Legislation to Join the eNLC

  • California
  • Connecticut
  • Washington D.C.
  • Hawaii
  • Nevada
  • Oregon

If your state currently has no pending legislation regarding the eNLC and you’re interested in learning more about why, contact your state’s Board of Nursing. They may have an advocacy group with an action plan to work with the decision makers regarding the eNLC.

If you’re looking for your next opportunity in an eNLC state, don’t hesitate to reach out to your Triage recruiter or search our list of allied and travel nurse jobs