Connecticut Signs Nurse License Compact Into Law

Good news for nurses who hold a Connecticut license or those who want to work in Connecticut. The state’s governor just signed the NLC into law on May 30, 2024. This makes Connecticut the 42nd state to join the compact.

Although signed into law, the legislation actually doesn’t go into effect until October 1, 2025. This gives Connecticut time to create an implementation process and applications for residents and non-residents alike.

Current NLC members as of June, 2024

  • Alabama
  • Arizona
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut (awaiting implementation)
  • Delaware
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Guam (partial implementation)
  • Idaho
  • Indiana
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Maine
  • Maryland
  • Mississippi
  • Missouri
  • Montana
  • Nebraska
  • New Hampshire
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • North Dakota
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Pennsylvania (partial implementation)
  • Rhode Island
  • South Carolina
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Virginia
  • Washington (partial implementation)
  • West Virginia
  • Wisconsin
  • Wyoming

Guam, Pennsylvania and Washington all have partial implementations for the NLC. This means that nurses who hold licenses in these locations will still need to apply for a license in other compact states, but nurses from outside these states can work in Guam, Pennsylvania and Washington under their compact license.